Michael Ballhaus Fellowship Award

Under the patronage of Foreign Minister Heiko Maas, Villa Aurora & Thomas Mann House e. V. and the German Film Academy have awarded the Michael Ballhaus Fellowship for cinematographers in cooperation since 2020.

The award honors cinematographer Michael Ballhaus, who died in 2017. It entails a three-month residency at Villa Aurora and is funded by the Federal Foreign Office. Awardees are selected by an independent jury. We do not accept applications for this award.

Previous Ballhaus Fellows:

2020 Judith Kaufmann

2022 Silke Fischer